32 days!

It’s been a busy couple of weeks. 🙂 On August 4, Rich’s family in Chicago surprised me with a remote Skype shower. They had a party at Sue’s house and let us watch as they opened gifts for us. It was a little unusual, but really sweet, and we very much appreciated the gesture. 🙂

On Thursday, August 9, my coworkers threw a big shower in the conference room. There were tons of gifts, great food, and cake. I had a hard time making room in my apartment for all the wonderful presents, but I’m really going to enjoy using them all.

Saturday, August 11, my sister threw a shower for me in my apartment complex’s community room, which went surprisingly well. I did have a moment of panic on the day previous, when I realized that I had accidentally booked a different, smaller room… I was able to call the leasing office and get it straightened out, though, and everything went off without a hitch. We got tons more gifts (my apartment is really full of stuff now), my homemade sangria went over really well, and it was great seeing all the various groups of friends mingling.

I had another moment of panic this week regarding the cake. Rich and I had our tasting back in April, and I decided on the bride cake (he’s yet to finalize the groom cake plans). I emailed the baker the other day because I hadn’t received an invoice yet or paid a deposit. Turns out that there was a miscommunication – they were waiting for me to contact them before putting me on the books, and I was waiting for them to contact me… anyway, it worked out, since they still had my date available. I paid a deposit right then over the phone, so we’re back on track.

Next on the agenda is bridal portraits… and another opportunity for panic and stress. I’ve yet to meet the hair and make-up artists, but I feel confident in their work based on their website, and the owner has excellent email communication, so I’m sure they’re great… and of course I’ve worked with my photographer before, and trust her… what scares me is the weather. I’ve been updating weather.com’s extended forecast every hour for the last week and am really nervous that it’s going to rain on us in the middle of our outdoor photo shoot. We’re currently looking at 40% chance of rain for Sunday… I just don’t know what we’re going to do if it rains.

Leave a comment