65 days!

Invites went out on Monday, and several people have already turned in their RSVP cards. Yay! I love opening those little envelopes and seeing peoples’ names.

Next task is to schedule the final walk-through at the Discovery Gardens. It’s not easy having to coordinate with the venue, planner, caterer, fiance’, and my cover at work, but everyone’s been really accomodating, so I think we’ll work something out.

I had a great email conversation with Sean this week, wherein I asked a bunch of questions about chairs and set-up and various other little details, and he gave me the firm answers that I was looking for. Basically he let me know that James Johnson will set up my ceremony chairs (which are provided by TDG). He recommends using TDG’s $2 chairs for the reception. He recommends seating 10 to a table instead of 8, as I’d originally planned; he pointed out something obvious that I’d completely overlooked – more tables = less dance floor. And of course more tables = more flowers, linens, etc., which = more money. Also, he can order any color of linens that I want, given a 10 day notice. So, we can go over all those little details when we meet up at the end of August.

So I’m feeling a little more confident about the little stuff now.

Other things on the to-do list for the next couple weeks:

  1. Sign a contract with my apartment leasing office to rent their comunity center for bridal shower (edit: check!)
  2. Get a list to Tiffany of people that I want to invite to shower (and decide if we want girls only or co-ed)
  3. Finish making a list for Shawna of family portraits that we want to have taken
  4. Decide on and book a rehearsal luncheon venue (currently under consideration: Buca di Beppo)
  5. Finish putting together favors
  6. Decide on a first dance song (hoping our choreographer can help with this next week)
  7. Choose about 30 songs and finalize the don’t play list for the DJ.
  8. Communicate with the officiant (who is currently at Comicon) about ceremony details
Leave a Reply

