76 days…

We went wedding band shopping yesterday.  First stop was Robbins Brothers – the storefront near the Galleria is so huge, I figured they’d have a massive selection.  Turns out that they just have a massive building… they don’t have any more rings than any other mall shop.  Anyway, it was a good first stop.  We found a few possibilities, but nothing that knocked our socks off.

Next stop was Zale’s at the Galleria, where we found a band for me.  I wasn’t sure if I’d be getting a wedding band or not – my engagement ring is rather large, and doesn’t really need any more embellishment, but we managed to find a band that was contoured just right to fit against my center stone.  And it was on sale, and deeply discounted, and the stones were bigger than the more expensive one at Robbins Bros.  And it didn’t even need to be sized.  So I couldn’t resist. 🙂 

Rich is still on a quest for the perfect ring… he started the day wanting something titanium or tungsten carbide, but ended the day leaning more towards white gold.  He likes hammered finishes, which look more realistic when done on gold, and look like chiseled facets on the harder metals.

We found one at Bachendorf’s (alas, I can not find a link to it) that was really unique – platinum, white gold and yellow gold blended together.  But it was ten times what he was expecting to spend, and four times what I was expecting.  So we’ll keep looking.  Hopefully we’ll find something for him soon.

I also found my shoes yesterday.  I’m going with these from the Tom’s bridal collection. 🙂  I tried them on at Nordstrom, but they only had one pair, which looked a bit worn – they’d clearly been tried on quite a few times.  So I ordered them online and will have a new pair shipped to me.

Also today I initiated contact with James Johnson, who will be doing out clean-up/tear-down after the wedding.  We’ll meet with him on our final walk-through (note to self: remember to call him when I’ve scheduled the final walk-through!)

This Saturday at 3:00 is our 60 day walk-through at TDG.  I think we’ve got everything pretty well in hand at this point, so mostly we just need to take care of our next payment.  It’s always good to see the venue again, tohugh, so I don’t mind doing another walk-through!

 

Leave a Reply

