We’re engaged!

20111128-065953.jpg

Rich had a little surprise for me yesterday afternoon…

The four-year anniversary of our first date began just like any other typical Sunday. It’s not an anniversary I usually feel needs to be celebrated; but rather simply remembered and privately acknowledged. As I was feeling somewhat romantic that morning, I updated my Facebook status with an awesomely appropriate quote by Robert Fulgham; “We’re all a little weird. And life is a little weird. And when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall into mutually satisfying weirdness – and call it love – true love.” I’ll admit I found it a little odd that Rich “liked” the update without bothering to comment on it, but didn’t really think too much of it at the time. Apparently he was saving up his response for later in the day…

We had a light lunch at La Madeline, then headed to the DMA at around 2:00 to catch the new Gaultier exhibit. We spent a couple hours looking at some seriously fabulous couture, and headed for the exit at 5:00, as the museum was closing for the day.

Rich was behaving a little unusually at this point. He told me that he wanted to get a picture of the sculpture at the front of the museum to accompany his Foursquare check-in. I thought this was a little strange since we go to the museum all the time – he doesn’t really need a picture to remember it by, does he? Unfortunately, the museum was closing, and the iconic red sculpture was on the other side of the building, so he decided to settle on a picture of the colorful mural near the parking garage.

Initially, I just hovered near the entrance, not quite grasping that he wanted a picture of ME, not just of the mural. Just as he managed to convince me to brave the cold and go out and pose for him, we ended up having to wait because there was a family milling about. Once they had dispersed, he asked me to come a little closer for the photo. A little closer… closer… He got down on one knee. I remember thinking that an upwards angle like that wouldn’t make the most flattering photo, but he’s the artist, after all… I came closer again at his direction. I glanced down at his hand holding the phone, and noticed something sparkling there on his fingertip. I was confused for a moment, until I finally recognized his posture for what it truly was. He waited until recognition dawned on my face, and then he looked up at me and quietly asked, “Will you marry me?”

At that point, I broke down in giggles and gasps and tears. I joined him on the ground and hugged him and kissed him, not even really glancing at the ring until the initial shock had passed. I finally looked at the stunningly gorgeous ring in my hand, and tried it on. A perfect fit! After a moment, I remembered that I hadn’t actually responded to his question, and said, “Oh, yes! Of course, yes.” Once he got the answer he was waiting for, he and I stood back up, and he caught the above photo on his phone. I remember how his heart was racing under my hand; I’d never known Rich to be nervous about anything!

Once we’d recovered our senses a bit, we headed back to my place, called our families, updated our Facebook statuses (the only way to make it really official these days ;)), and opened a bottle of wine.

Thus begins our next great adventure! I’m looking forward to getting started on the wedding plans, as well as figuring out where we’re going to live. I know we’ve got a lot of work ahead of us, but I plan on enjoying and cherishing every moment of it.

2 thoughts on “We’re engaged!

  1. Gloria Adams says:

    We are so happy for the two of you and wish only the best for you in your upcoming marriage. WE love you both!

    MOM and DAD

    • angelaadams says:

      Thank you so much! Rich has pretty much been part of the family for a while now. Now it’s time to make it official. 🙂

Leave a Reply

